15 June 2014

300 Rise of an Empire Review

300 Rise of an Empire was one of the most anticipated movies of the year the question was whether it will deliver the same success as the original film brought in 2006 on the screen and in the box office.
300 rise of an empire David Wenham as Dilos
300 - Dilios 

06 June 2014

Pompeii Review

Let's admit it nobody expected Pompeii to be a remember-able film, most people didn't even take the film too seriously from the beginning. So when the poor thing finally came out it had no other option than to hold to the lowest expectations.
Pompeii volcano burst
Volcano
Like most movies of the style what made me want to see it despite its obvious flaws is:
Kit Harington (Jon Snow) he is on Game of Thrones so I had to watch the film
Everything that has to do with Roman History is a must, what can I say, I’m a freak of the genre.

25 May 2014

Street Fighter Assassin's Fist Review

I saw the first trailer for Machinima's new street fighter web series a while ago but only now I discovered that all 12 short episodes were released. Just like with Mortal Kombat Machinima went to the core story of the franchise, the one that appealed to so many of the 80's kids. with a tiny budget Machinima managed to turn around the fate of this awesome franchise and bring it to life, but most importantly it looked great because it was made for the small children of the 80's. Not like 1994's failed film with Jean-Claude Van Damme which focused more on flashy nonsense forgetting completely why was the game so popular.

Machinima's web series focused mostly on two of the beloved fighters of the games Ryu and Ken. We got to know the back story of the identical fighters from their childhood to their teenage years. In addition to Ryu and Ken we got to meet their master who tought them everything they know and dig deeper to his own back story.

Street Fighter Assassin's Fist was not as fluent as Machinima's 2 previous seasons of Mortal Kombat. In Street Fighter Assassin's Fist Machinima focused on only 4 important characters while Ken and Ryu delivered what was expected of them, the other two failed to leave a significant mark. The scenes which featured Goki and Gôken were not very good. It's hard to say what was the reason but every time when Goki and Gôken appeared on the screen we missed Ken and Ryu almost immediately. Maybe it was because Gôken's origins story wasn't as appealing, the bottom line was it just didn't work and we were left with too little of Ken an Ryu. Another problem that was obvious was the budget limitations that influenced harshly on the casting choices. The young Goki and Gôken looked in a certain way while their older replacements nothing like them. Even worse than that Goki’s older version was buffed up white dude that had zero resemblance to the younger Japanese version of himself.

With all the rediculessely strange stuff with Machinima's Street Fighter that was mentioned above, the most important thing about the show was implemented correctly. The origins story of Ryu and Ken was good and was a joy to follow. The funny thing about it, that it was one of the simplest plots you would see on TV. There was nothing flashy or special about it. 

Machinima's Street Fighter described the friendship and growth of two of its beloved fighters. The true fans of the original game didn't ask anything more. Machinima knows how to focus on important things and making them look so simple. While in the same time choreographs great fight sequences that stay true to the original story which are a joy to watch. At the end of the day what does every Street Fighter fan wants to see from its TV or the big screen adaptation? He wants to see every fighter fighting moves he saw in the game come to life on the screen. Ken vs Ryu fight we saw in the trailer and later on in episode 11 delivered exactly what we wanted to see and that is why this short low budget web series with all its problems Surpasses the 1994 movie in several levels.

Like I mentioned the show had a lot of dead spots (Goki and GoKen) with a bit boring plot at times ,Goken's vs Gokis open ending didn't help either but we were compensated with Ken and Ryu during the entire season and their battle in the end was the crown jewel of the entire season.
The entire season of Machinima's Street Fighter Assassin's Fist is in the video bellow, if you are a true Street Fighter fan you have to check it out.
Video: Street Fighter Assassin's Fist Season 1 Machinima brings us Ken Vs. Ryu in the fresh web series Street Fighter Assassin's Fist


Street Fighter DVD's

Street Fighter (Extreme Edition) [Blu-ray]
Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li (Unleashed and Unrated) [Blu-ray]




18 May 2014

Vikings Season 2 Final Review

Vikings is one of those shows that is a sin to miss out on. Vikings first season surprised everyone with its raw brutality and the explosion of the audience to a crude and at times strange Vikings culture. 
vikings Ragnar Lothbrok axe
Vikings weapons
Season 2 of the show picked up exactly where the first season ended and told the story of Ragnar Lothbrok his family’s story and how all of them rose to fame. Ragnar Lothbrok (Travis Fimmel) a simple but a very sharp local warrior in a distant Scandinavian province who rose to power and united most of the Scandinavian tribes. One of Ragnar's gifts is the ability to read his enemies and prepare accordingly when he is obliged to kill them.

09 May 2014

Robocop 2014 Review

When it was announced that we are about to get a reboot to the 1987 Robocop I didn’t really know how to take it. On one had you got yourself a great material that was a huge success in the past and on the other hand what exactly can you do with it now days.
Robocop with Gary Oldman, Samuel L. Jackson and Michael Keaton
Robocop 2014

29 April 2014

Goodbye to Disqus

Hi guys recently Cool Reviews Rule encountered synchronization problems between Disqus and the blogger platform that Cool Reviews Rule blog is running on. We got in touch with Disqus support unfortunately they couldn’t solve the problem blaming the Blogger Platform, we tried getting in touch with Google / Blogger unfortunately this turned to be mission impossible.
Unfortunately this blog is running on a Blogger platform with all the bad things that come with it, including the horrible comment system. At this point we have to remove Disqus to prevent even more damage to Cool Reviews Rule, we will continue working with Bloggers commenting system at least until we move permanently to Wordpress (this move will not happen soon).
We understand that some of the comments will be lost and we are sorry about it, we want to apologize before the people that commented on our most commented post: The Daenerys Post. We know that this is too much and we are to blame but keep on commenting to help us grow beyond this glitch.


Thanks for following 
Cool Reviews Rule

25 April 2014

Snowpiercer Review

to tell you the truth prior watching this film I didn’t really know what to expect. the trailer was very vague and didn’t give much information. the world got frozen and there was a mysterious train filled with survivors who were living in harsh conditions, everything else seemed to be unclear. 
snowpiercer chris evans
Snowpiercer
Chris Evans was the lead man in the film alongside Jamie Bell, Tilda Swinton (who was disturbingly excellent) and a bit of Ed Harris. if you compare Snowpiercer to some of the other films of the past its some sort of a hybrid between Bruce lee's tower of death with a spice of the of Hunger Games capitol citizen population only all that is a lot more raw and brutal and everything was going on, on  train.

18 April 2014

47 Ronin Review

The first time I heard about the 47 Ronin project I was really excited. Keanu Reeves was back to the big screen. Not only that it was a samurai movie, who wouldn't like a samurai movies? But it was with Keanu Reeves and Hiroyuki Sanada, what else would we need. 
47 ronin swords
Samurai Swords